IGCSE Curriculum (Grade 9-12)

Home » IGCSE Curriculum (Grade 9-12)


The IGCSE stands for International General Certificate of Secondary Education which is the International version of GCSE. It is a two year program leading to externally set, marked and certified examinations from the University of Cambridge. It is a unique UK government endorsed program provided to schools, and is the world most popular international qualification for 14 to 16 year old’s. It is recognized by leading universities and is accepted as an evidence of academic ability, progression and success.

This certificate is issued by the University of Cambridge, Local Examinations Syndicate known as UCLES.

The certificate as its name implies is internationally recognized and will guarantee students acceptance in any college provided they satisfy the requirements of the particular institution.

IGCSE is a balanced international curriculum which is designed to encourage high academic standards through a practical approach to teaching and learning. Successful students receive an internationally recognized qualification, the International General Certificate of Secondary Education, which is equivalent in standard to the British GCSE.

The curriculum is suitable for students of all nationalities and all levels of ability. It provides an ideal preparation for higher level courses such as the Advanced Supplementary and Advanced courses and is recognized as evidence of ability by academic institutions worldwide.

IGCSE offers a flexible curriculum with a choice of many subject combinations. It helps develop skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem solving. Cambridge IGCSE develops learner knowledge understanding and skills in:

  • Subject content.
  • Applying knowledge and understanding to new as well as unfamiliar situations.
  • Intellectual enquiry.
  • Flexibility and responsiveness to change.
  • Working and communicating in English.

The syllabuses are international in outlook created specifically for an international student body.

The assessment takes place at the end of the course and can include written, oral, and practical assessment.

Grades are benchmarked using eight internationally recognized grades A* to G which have clear guidelines to explain the standard of achievement for each grade.

Cambridge IGCSE examination sessions occur twice every year in June and November. Results are issued in June and January.

Our School prepares the students for the extended curriculum which enables students to achieve grades A to E. The course is divided into 4 semesters. The syllabus will be completed in 3 semesters and the fourth semester will be dedicated to solving the past exam papers, conducting mock exams etc. which help the students to get familiar with  time management and face external exam with more confidence.

The students will take the school examination at the end of each semester and go for the external exam at the end of fourth semester.

The school offers the following subjects for the IGCSE curriculum.

  1. Mathematics.
  2.  Physics.
  3. Chemistry.
  4. Biology.
  5. First Language Arabic.
  6. Computer Science.
  7. English as a second language.

Though the Exams are conducted by the British Council twice a year- in May/June and Nov. /Dec. The school prepares the students only for the exam in May/June.

The results are announced two months after the exams and certificates are issued a month after the announcement of results.


The students wanting to register for the IGCSE course should score a minimum of 90% as the final average of grade 8.